Book of Common Prayer: Confessions of Sin

I’m going to just reprint the confessions of sin available in the Book of Common Prayer, as shown in Rite 1. (Rite 2 uses the second version, changing the thee’s and thy’s to you and your, but is otherwise the same.  In a recent rant, I was whining about Rite 1, and the first confession of sin I show here was used.)

Almighty God,
Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
maker of all things, judge of all men:
We acknowledge and bewail our manifold sins and wickedness,
which we from time to time most grievously have committed,
by thought, word, and deed, against thy divine Majesty,
provoking most justly thy wrath and indignation against us.
We do earnestly repent,
and are heartily sorry for these our misdoings;
the remembrance of them is grievous unto us,
the burden of them is intolerable.
Have mercy upon us,
have mercy upon us, most merciful Father;
for thy Son our Lord Jesus Christ’s sake,
forgive us all that is past;
and grant that we may ever hereafter
serve and please thee in newness of life,
to the honor and glory of thy Name;
through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

or this

Most merciful God,
we confess that we have sinned against thee
in thought, word, and deed,
by what we have done,
and by what we have left undone.
We have not loved thee with our whole heart;
we have not loved our neighbors as ourselves.
We are truly sorry and we humbly repent.
For the sake of thy Son Jesus Christ,
have mercy on us and forgive us;
that we may delight in thy will,
and walk in thy ways,
to the glory of thy Name. Amen.

I think I’ll just quit for now in the sharing of these wording choices that my hyperactive little ol’ brain is toying with.  I’ll try and write more of my ponderings on them later.  Peace once again! – Karla

13 Responses to Book of Common Prayer: Confessions of Sin

  1. 0-2 Continuum says:

    Many an Episcopalian has been caught ranting on Rite I – both in support of and degradation of… hope you didn’t tire yourself out!

  2. karla says:

    Hah! I’m tired but not from the rant. It’s the unrelated tiredness that keeps me from ranting. Aw shucks, hardly seems worth it anymore. New computer system at work has got my brain in overdrive, trying to process its little feeble learnings, even in the wee hours of the night when I waken. This shall pass! Better already, but little energy left for silly rants of any type. (ha ha!!!)

  3. Helen says:

    when I was a child I thought the word heartily was being said hardly

    “are heartily sorry for these our misdoings;”

  4. Susan says:

    When we gaze into the eyes of Christ, there are none righteous save him. This is the beauty and mystery of Rite I, that our sinful nature is fully cleansed and redeemed by his blood. I love, love, love Rite I. I get it … it used to put me off too, but the older I get, the more I’m drawn to the older prayers.

    Blessings in your walk.

  5. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen to be working
    with? I’m experiencing some small security problems with my latest blog and I would like to find something more safe. Do you have any solutions?

  6. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with
    SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Many thanks!

  7. Hello to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this
    webpage; this blog contains awesome and really fine stuff in support of visitors.

  8. You need to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the internet.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this
    blog!

  9. David says:

    I just love the dignity of the prayer book language, despite its being 350 years old. Forget about the politically correct, user-friendly, dumbed-down, trendy stuff that some folks feel they have to churn out! Long live the thees and thous!

  10. Rob attendit dans le vestibule et, des que je mis le pied sur
    le paillasson, je me trouvai en presence de ma cousine Edie, qui etait toujours restee la meme, et qui se mit a me contempler de ce regard sauvage qu’elle a. http://www.sophiechassat.com

  11. B.s.sherwin says:

    I wish my French was up to par…our French friends like us are embroiled in a European/global struggle..in which our arch Enemy takes up deadly weapons of political pretensions.May we turn together to the very core of our personal failures as in these age old pleas before God.Then so cleansed seek the Presence of The Holy One to quench the powers that divide and confound our generation.To stem the lies of The Antichrist and bring him down as God’s Kingdom is fearlessly proclaimed.In Jesus mighty name.Amen

Leave a Reply

