Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it

If you ever have times when you get to feeling out of the loop, AND if you’re a well-intentioned person of faith, AND if you have an inborn tendency to overthink things (way!) too much, you can have a very complex, conflicted set of feelings. (does it sound like maybe I’ve been there?)

The expected pity-party. Poor me. How dare they do that to me? I deserve better! (Harumph!)

The rational, open-minded point of view. Trying to see all sides of the story, trying to keep your point of view in perspective with all the others.

The (to me!) scary place of asserting yourself, humbly, that by gosh and by golly, I SHOULD be in the loop.

The difficulty, of course, is determining wisely and fairly when one is smack dab in the midst of it, and all the attendant feelings that go with it, is which of the three options you’re working in. And the reality might just be a combination of all three.

But what if, after being brutally honest with yourself, but simultaneously self-loving and respecting-to-self, you determine that it is largely an unwarranted by the reality, unattractive pity-party?

Well, then it’s time for some humble pie! Even when I have times where it is fully right and appropriate to assert myself and my needs, I can find myself turning it into something bigger and more emotional – a pity party of sorts – than it really is. The following prayer is one that I like to use as a tool when I need to wrestle myself away from the siren call of indulging my lesser emotions. Okay, sure, I find some of the phrases a little harsh, and I certainly couldn’t use it as an everyday prayer – but when I’m mucked deeply in the throes of “poor, poor unappreciated me” it sounds an awesome wake-up call. I offer it to you for your use if it speaks to you.

Peace!

Litany of Humility

O Jesus! meek and humble of heart,
Hear me.

From the desire of being esteemed,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being loved,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being extolled,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being honored,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being praised,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being preferred to others,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being consulted,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being approved,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being humiliated,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being despised,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of suffering rebukes,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being calumniated,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being forgotten,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being ridiculed,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being wronged,
Deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being suspected,
Deliver me, Jesus.

That others may be loved more than I,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be esteemed more than I,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That, in the opinion of the world, others may increase and I may decrease,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be chosen and I set aside,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be praised and I unnoticed,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be preferred to me in everything,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may become holier than I, provided that I may become as holy as I should,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
Rafael Cardinal Merry del Val (1865-1930)

4 Responses to Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it

  1. What a wonderful prayer – I think most days I could use it as a daily prayer. Less of me, more and more of Him and everyone else around me.

  2. karla says:

    Yeah, a tough one for me at times that less of me more of him business! (thanks for stopping by! nice to make your acquaintance, Chris!)

  3. This is very nice and insightful. I would like to use it as a liturgy in our worship soon. Would that be okay with you?

  4. karla says:

    Hi there, rlp! Glad you liked it – of course I cannot take credit for the litany though. A Roman Catholic cardinal wrote that many years ago. An Episcopal priest friend and mentor simply had the integrity and tough love necessary to place it under my nose when my pity-party “enjoyment” was getting a little too protracted. ;) Aw, I recognized it as such – just sort of stuck in that unattractive muck. It was a quite welcome winching. At any rate, I’m sure widely sharing it can only be a good thing. Hope it blesses your people!

Leave a Reply

