Twitter? Not sure I get the concept?

Of course, I’m not letting that hold me back from getting a twitter account. (see the right sidebar at the website.) I’m not sure how I’ll use it yet, but I thought I’d give it a whirl. So far, I don’t think any of the people in my reach-out-and-touch crowd are on it. Ah, what the heck. I’ll soon see what blogger or e-group friends turn up there. “Come follow me on Twitter,” as they say. (karla__ is my username.)

https://twitter.com/karla__

So you who twitter…what’s your goal in using it? Blogs I get. I may be amateur, but the heart of a compulsive writer beats within me, and 140 characters (the Twitter posting limit) could never cut it for the topics I would usually care enough to hop on to the computer and blather on about. Who reads you and corresponds with you on Twitter? On what level of social or business interaction? What motivates you to monitor one more place that messages accumulate in? My inquiring mind is quite curious?

Peace! – Karla

4 Responses to Twitter? Not sure I get the concept?

  1. hey, Karla. Twitter is a fun way to interact with people on line, like a big watercooler chat. You may want to use twirl or tweetdeck to help manage things when you follow lots of people. what else? oh, yeah. turn it off and walk away when you need to get something important done. :)

    monica

  2. karla says:

    interesting. Hey, I’ll see you tweeting and twittering away. Cool.

  3. Karla, I had no idea what to do with Twitter when I started, but am hooked now. Think of each 140 character or less update as just the tiniest tiniest blog post. The limitation can help build skills.

  4. karla says:

    Diane, nice to make your acquaintance. I’m looking forward to exploring your blog a little deeper (interesting story there!), and as further practice, I’ve “followed” you on Twitter. In the “it’s all abt me” context, Twitter is serving me well, updating my facebook status for me, without actually signing into either addictive service – Twitter or facebook. In the interest of adding interesting content to the community and not neglecting to follow up on a conversation, I’m puzzled. Hopefully folks will cut me slack if they’re at a level of interest where they might actually engage me? ‘Course, I’m so new, it’s more likely that I’m a tiny blip on the twitter radar and going mostly unnoticed. Quite fine til I get the hang of it! (ha ha) Again, nice to make your acquaintance. Hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

