oh. my. god.

(referencing p.59-60 of The Road of Lost Innocence by Somaly Mam, which I mentioned recently that I’ve begun reading in this post )

Last night is usually my “favorite night of the year.”  That night in the world of daylight savings time that gives us an “extra” hour of sleep.  Of course I never use it to catch up on sleep.  No, I usually twitter it away in useless busy-ness or catching up on work.

Last night I had intended to actually use it for sleep, but then the temptation of books gave in after the glow of my computer screen had been dimmed.  So I read.

I got to p. 59-60 of my book.  I literally sobbed.  I put the book down, and tried to pray.

This morning I tried to think what is within my teensy tiny circle of power and influence to do something about it?  I’ll steel myself and keep reading the book some other night.  I suspect that at a minimum my power to act includes donating money to the cause and prayer of course.  Perhaps the author will include more specific concrete suggestions as I read on.  Here’s her website once more, which I admit I haven’t explored in any great detail yet:

www.somaly.org

Heavenly Father.  I don’t know what to ask for.  I suppose it’s a little like a parent trying to bargain with you for the health of their seriously ill child.  Well, not quite that emotionally raw either, and I suppose I’m presuming insultingly to know what that heartbreaking situation must be like for a struggling parent, too, but still, Lord?!?   Are you up there?  Can you hear us? Could we maybe forfeit a little free will and you come on down, intervene, and fix things up a little down here?  Throw in a whole lot of that wrath of God stuff, bigtime?!?

Okay, outside my paygrade, as they say.  I still don’t know what to ask for, but Lord, just look on this world and drop as much grace and healing as is possible in a world that’s f-ing messed up.

Amen.

(I literally can’t bring myself to repeat the passages I read in the book, but it had to do with the author detailing some of the horrific child rape that takes place in the brothels.  Lord have mercy and compassion.)

Leave a Reply

