Do It Anyway (a reflection after a 3-generation girls’ night out)

Tonight my mom, myself, and my daughter went to a musical show put on by a group called the Kids from Wisconsin.  We go every year, having known people in the group. (oh, yeah, I guess that includes me too, back in my high school days doesn’t it?!?  [sheepish smile].  But there have been others that we knew, too, long before and since I was involved.)

We went last year, and my daughter was SO excited.  She was practically dancing in the aisles.  She looked forward to tonight’s performance with great anticipation when I told her we were going again…that and the opportunity to leave the boys behind!  She happily sat down between myself and her grandma, at this, what she identifies as “that teenager singing show”.  Life was cool.

Except this year, she got bored.  Oh well.  We “did it anyway.” (no, that’s NOT the extent of connection to this post’s title…I’m really reaching there to be [ahem] clever.)

This is a show that I have mixed opinions about.  For the right songs, they are extraordinarily entertaining!  I rather enjoy those big choral numbers where they have a highly talented feature soloist, and the rest of the choral group swells in on the chorus in multi-part harmony, on a sentimental anthem type of piece.  But then there’s other songs where the effect is a little cheesy, kind of like elevator music and cheesy dance moves.  But other times the dancing is an absolute delight to watch, don’t misunderstand me!  The band can be outstanding, and I thought this year with one piece’s exception they were.  Just depends.

I’m no country music fan ordinarily, but one of the Kids’ medleys this year was a country music medley.  I was deeply affected by the words and the on-your-sleeve feeling expressed as these young people were singing.  I even wrote down the hook lyric snippet, so I could come home and Google on it.  Turns out it is a Martina McBride song.  The site I landed on for the lyrics even had it playing in the background!  How cool.  Honestly, no offense to Ms. McBride, but kudos to the Kids’ and their musical arranger, but I think the prize goes to the Kids’ on this one.  I didn’t care for Martina McBride’s version, curiously enough.  But no matter.  It wasn’t the tune that caught my ear anyway, but was the lyrics…particularly in their (the performing Kids’) case the verse that went something like, “you pour your soul out singing you believe in, but they’ll forget you ever sang tomorrow…sing it anyway.”

“Do it anyway” is a repeated parallelism throughout the song.

Do it anyway.

That reminds me of a great deal of what living faithfully is all about.  You can get so excited and passionate about the feelings that flow through you and drive you and motivate you.  You get “psyched.”  You pour your everything into it.  And tomorrow no one knows.  Or cares.  Or ho-hum reality sets in; so much for your wild-eyed dreamers’ ideas and notions.  But no matter.  Do it anyway.

One, you just never know.  And two, well, no matter!  Most of life is in the doing, not the succeeding and shining.  I don’t feel like I’ve penned this down terribly profoundly…not nearly as much as it has made my mind do its little tumbling act of deeper pondering, but this is the best I’ve got for tonight.

Martina’s got the chorus down just right, too, in my opinion.  It ain’t about me.  It’s in the doing.  It’s in the God who lives in me, above me, below me, around me, and through me.  Do it anyway.  Just get on your knees, or your back, or your feet and pray.  And live.  And sing.  Or whatever your thing is that makes your heart soar, and permit yourself to crash, then get back up and do it again anyway.

Heavenly Father, bless us with the perseverance and the joy of doing without needing to shine.  Let there be joy in the doing and living…the beating of our heart, and the straining of our muscles…the stretching of our minds.  The very melodies of our souls and lives.  Give us the strength to come back again and again, even when things don’t turn out the way WE think they should, and give our lives to you anyway.  Amen.

(Here’s those lyrics if you’re unfamiliar with the song, as I was.  Enjoy!)

You can spend your whole life building something from nothing
One storm can come and blow it all away
Build it anyway
You can chase a dream that seems so out of reach and you know it might not ever come your way
Dream it anyway

Chorus:
God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good
And when I pray it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway, I do it anyway

This world’s gone crazy and it’s hard to believe that tomorrow will be better than today
Believe it anyway
You can love someone with all your heart, for all the right reasons, and in a moment they can choose to walk away
Love ’em anyway

Repeat Chorus

You can pour your soul out singing a song you believe in that tomorrow they’ll forget you ever sang
Sing it anyway, sing it anyway

I sing, I dream, I love, anyway,

Leave a Reply

