Come and fill my heart with You…

I was driving my daughter for a sleepover with grandma this afternoon. This song by Avalon came on the radio while we were driving. My daughter, bless her little heart, doesn’t (yet!) complain about my singing. And I belted it out with all sorts of feeling! This is one I’ve often thought I could incorporate into a little personal liturgy for individual devotions.

I don’t have a ton more to say on this topic, other than it was the right song at the right time. It was followed by another song that, lyric-wise, isn’t quite as rich for ongoing personal devotions, but has held reasonably good meaning for me in certain circumstances and times. Neat little coincidence to hear those two in a row. Anyway, for now, here’s, Come and Fill My Heart.
(emphases added my me…the words that especially tend to tug at my heartstrings.) May they tug at yours as well. Peace!

*********************************************

Free, I long to be free,
I long for the day I believe,
that all you say you see in me is true;
that’s hard for me to do,
it’s hard for me to die to myself,
and trust my life to someone else
,

so come, empty me out,
I’m no good without,
you inside of me!

Come and fill my heart with hope,
come and fill my life with love,
come and fill my soul with strength to
carry on because from here the climb is
steep the road is long.
Come and fill my days with dreams.
Empty me of all the empty things,
that I hold on to, come and fill my
heart with you.

I need you in my life,
need you like the air that I breathe,
you’ve become the very heart of me,
and I, I can’t believe my eyes,
I can’t believe the dream that I’ve found,
Lord your love has turned my world around,

so come…fill up my heart till I’m like you are…so
deep inside of me.

Come and fill my heart with hope,
come and fill my life with love,
come and fill my soul with strength to
carry on because from here the climb is
steep the road is long.
Come and fill my days with dreams.
Empty me of all the empty things,
that I hold on to, come and fill my
heart with you.

Search me Lord,
try my heart,
come and take me now and make me new,
So Lord that the world will see you in my life.

Come and fill my heart with hope,
come and fill my life with love,
come and fill my soul with strength to
carry on because from here the climb is
steep the road is long.
Come and fill my days with dreams.
Empty me of all the empty things,
that I hold on to, come and fill my
heart with you.

*********************************************

The other one? Brave, by Nichole Nordeman.

*********************************************

The gate is wide
The road is paved in moderation
The crowd is kind and quick to pull you in
Welcome to the middle ground
You’re safe and sound and
Until now, it’s where I’ve been

‘Cause it’s been fear that ties me down to everything
But it’s been love, your love, that cuts the strings

So long status quo
I think I just let go
You make me want to be brave
The way it always was
Is no longer good enough
You make me want to be brave
Brave, brave

I am small
And I speak when I’m spoken to
But I am willing to risk it all
I say your name,
just your name, and I’m ready to jump
Even ready to fall.

Why did I take this vow of compromise?
Why did I try to keep it all inside?

I’ve never known a fire that didn’t begin with a flame
Every storm will start with just a drop of rain
But if you believe in me, that changes everything

*********************************************

Transformation…changing everything… well, we’re all works in progress now, aren’t we. But recognizing the touches and tugs of God certainly changes how we act and how we see the world around us. Thanks be to God for it, too!

Leave a Reply

